Saturday, 15 September 2012


Disciple: Why is the body called Sarira or Deha?
Guru: Because the body decays (Sheeryate) on account of old age, it is called Sarira.
Because it is cremated or burnt (Dahyate) it is called Deha.

Disciple: What is the Pranamaya Kosha made of?
Guru: It is made up of the Pranas or the vital airs and the five Karmendriyas or organs of

Disciple: How many Pranas are there?
Guru: There are ten Pranas five Mukhya or chief Pranas, viz., Prana, Apana, Vyana, Udana
and Samana, and five Upapranas or sub-Pranas viz., Naga, Kurma, Krikara, Devadatta and

Disciple:What is the function of Udana?
Guru: Udana helps deglutition or swallowing of food. It takes the Jiva to rest in Brahman
during deep sleep. It separates the astral body from the physical body at the time of death.

Disciple:What is the function of Naga?
Guru: Belching and hiccough or eructation and vomiting are the functions of Naga.

Disciple: What is the function of Kurma?
Guru: Closing and opening of eyelids are the functions of Kurma.

Disciple: What is the function of Krikara?
Guru: Causing of hunger is the function of Krikara.

Disciple: What is the function of Devadatta?
Guru: Yawning is the function of Devadatta.

Disciple: What is the function of Dhananjaya?
Guru: Nourishing the body, decomposition of the body after death and ejection of the child
out of the womb in women are the functions of Dhananjaya.

Disciple: What are the two divisions in Prana?
Guru: Gross Prana and subtle Prana are the two divisions in Prana.

Disciple: What are the functions of these Pranas?
Guru: The gross Prana does the functions of breathing, digestion, excretion, circulation, etc.
The subtle Prana generates thought.

Reference & Courtesy: Vedanta for beginners - Shri Swami Sivanana

No comments:

Post a Comment